About the Freedom Award Reception

The Freedom Award was established by the Directors of the No Greater Sacrifice Foundation to best honor individuals who epitomize selfless service to the nation and represents the very best of our men and women in uniform.

2013 Freedom Award

This years Freedom Award Reception was held on September 12, 2013 at the Jones Day Rooftop in Washington, D.C. The Freedom Award honored Sergeant Major Carlton Kent, USMC (Retired), the 16th Sergeant Major of the United States Marine Corps.

NGS Freedom Award Reception

2011 Freedom Award

The 2011 Freedom Award honored General Raymond T. Odierno, Commander, United States Joint Forces Command and Sergeant First Class Joseph R. Kapacziewski, Platoon Serveant, C Co, 3/75.

2010 Freedom Award

The 2010 Freedom Award honored General James T. Conway, 34th Commandant of the US Marine Corps.

2009 Freedom Award

The 2009 Freedom Award honored General David H. Petraeus, Commander, US Central Command.

2008 Freedom Award

The 2008 Freedom Award honored Colonel David W. Sutherland, Commander 3rd heavy Brigade Combat Team "Greywolf", 1st Calvary Division of the US Army.

To learn more about past awards, please watch these videos and view photos from previous Freedom Award events.